Way of the gifted

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
Marc Lombart
Marc Lombart's picture
Way of the gifted

Hello,

   in the description of this edge it is written, "This Edge may be taken twice to gain its full benefits. " Does this mean that the edge can only be taken twice per character, or up to twice per rank?

howardrbrandon-RF
howardrbrandon-RF's picture

Hey Marc,

I'm not the rules guy, so I actually don't have every edge memorized. What book is it in? I'd like to check this out myself.

Thanks!

Howard R Brandon III

Community Manager

AKA Colonel Alexander Wolfhaven

Echer'Naught Regional Command HQ

swampfoxib
swampfoxib's picture

And I am the rules guy but I have no idea which book it's in either. Though for general reference when an edge states that it can be taken multiple times it usually can only be taken once per rank.  I'd like to know where this edge is and what source you are using for is as then I'd actually be able to answer your question.

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Chris Parks

Previous Culture Warden

In Game:
Lt. Felosia Naiilo - High Druidess: Phoenix Moth Grove; Sog
Lt. Magpie Stormsinger - Trollkeep

Steven C
Steven C's picture

Way Gifted, page 39 Shaintar: Legends Arise is the only Edge that fits the naming idea and rules the OP is referencing.

When it was used in my games I only allowed it to be taken twice per character; once for the +5 Essence and once for the +1 additional Power. The power never references that it can be taken over multiple ranks, like say the Powerful edge or other edges that directly touch on that. It's only reference to anything like that is the +5 Essence because it references the additional Power Points Edge basically stating you can take Way Gifted and Additional Power Points in the same rank to net a +15 Essence gain that rank.

 

 

howardrbrandon-RF
howardrbrandon-RF's picture

Thanks Steven C.

Howard R Brandon III

Community Manager

AKA Colonel Alexander Wolfhaven

Echer'Naught Regional Command HQ

Marc Lombart
Marc Lombart's picture

  tHANK YOU, i WAS THINKING THAT TOO, BUTWANTED TO BE SURE.

--Marc Lombart

swampfoxib
swampfoxib's picture

Based on how this edge is worded I'd have to say you are partly right Steven (and thanks for pointing me to it). The edge states that you may use it to take an additional power (up to two ranks higher than their current rank) OR 5 additional power points. And then states that it may be taken twice to gain the full benefits. What that means by the intent of its creation is this edge may only be taken twice in the life of the character, once for the power points (essence) and once for a new power.  You could take the edge twice in a row, but you can only take it twice.  Meaning maximum you'll gain an additional 5 essence above what other adepts can gain (rather than 15, the rest was spot on).

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Chris Parks

Previous Culture Warden

In Game:
Lt. Felosia Naiilo - High Druidess: Phoenix Moth Grove; Sog
Lt. Magpie Stormsinger - Trollkeep

Steven C
Steven C's picture

You miss understood where I got the +15 Essence. The Edge specifically calls out that it can be used in the same rank as the Power Point edge. I was pointing out that a character can take this Edge for the +5 Essence and the Power Point Edge for the +10 Essence in the same rank for a net increase of +15. 

 

 

 

swampfoxib
swampfoxib's picture

Now I understand where you were coming from.  But unless there's another edge that was taken which I dont see here taking the additional power points edge only gives you +5 essence not +10.

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Chris Parks

Previous Culture Warden

In Game:
Lt. Felosia Naiilo - High Druidess: Phoenix Moth Grove; Sog
Lt. Magpie Stormsinger - Trollkeep

Matrix4b

Yes, I believe the standard for taking the Edge for Power Points is +5 Essence each time you take the Edge.  And the Power Points (Extra Essence in Shaintar) can only be taken once a rank.  Now the Way Gifted Edge you can get the +5 Essence.  So, by that conclusion, Yes you can get a total of +10 Essence in one Rank, but only once as you cannot take the Way Gifted Edge again for extra Essence.

So the break down is: Way Gifted: +5 Essence (as stated a one time option), Extra Essence Edge: +5 Essence (But only once a Rank)

Steven C
Steven C's picture

I see; I forgot that I long ago homeruled the Power Points edge to grant +10 Power Points/Essence a rank over  standard+5 Power Points/Essence that I had to reference the SW book to realize my mistake. I just normally recall it as my homerule.

swampfoxib
swampfoxib's picture

No worries!  Just wanted to make certain I wasn't missing something. As for the home rule though, make sure that if the characters who have used that home rule (or any others that change character sheet mechanics like that) are going to join another J&L game they adjust their sheets back down to the normal rules for J&L before they hit the table.

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Chris Parks

Previous Culture Warden

In Game:
Lt. Felosia Naiilo - High Druidess: Phoenix Moth Grove; Sog
Lt. Magpie Stormsinger - Trollkeep